Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Diaper Chatter and Q & A (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Wipes (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9661)

Gavin&Brent'sMommy 05-28-2006 10:39 PM

Wipes

What is the best fabric to make wipes out of?

mommy2zander 05-28-2006 11:23 PM

Re: Wipes

Hmm, this is really a personal preference, I think...
I make mine out of flannel, fleece, knit, velour & washable suede...
many other mamas also use sherpa & can't think of what else...
I'm sure you'll get more answers!! :hugegrin:

Gavin&Brent'sMommy 05-28-2006 11:32 PM

thanks :) and I am currently using disposie wipes, so with cloth wipes do you mix up a solution or buy one or just use water w/ or w/out soap? sorry tons of questions lol I am very new to CD hehe

FitMommyOf2 05-29-2006 03:48 AM

I love flannel or velour wipes for the less messy changes (or even for using for wiping the face, hands etc) and the ones w/more 'grip' (like sherpa, terry) for the poo changes.
I mostly mix my own solution (2 Tbsp of baby oil, 2 Tbsp of baby shampoo/wash, 2 cups hot water, sometimes a few drops of TTO though I find Mason to react to it sensitively, so I rarely use it anymore) and use a squirt bottle and spray each wipe when I need it. I also have a sposie container w/~8 wipes in there, wet already though, after my one squirt bottle stopped working. I still like the squirt method the best though.

You can also buy solutions or stuff like 'Baby bits' or Honey chunks, which are small squares of soap which you dilute w/2 cups of water.

HTH! :)

SarahJane 05-29-2006 07:58 AM