Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 06-03-2011, 04:40 PM   #1
sugar_booger
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
vitamin k and eye "goop" at birth

posted this in DD group, but thought I'd open it up and see what everyone else has to say

so this is my 3rd baby, but I'm still new to more natural living... and since joining DS I've heard people turn down having the vit K shot and eye antibiotics with their babies. I never thought to question this in my other kids, our hospital doesn't do vaxes in the hospital, just the vit k and goop... and my OB has never said their were risks to either (she has never really explained why they do it routinely though either). Soooo... anybody want to give me some facts on this stuff and why I would or would not want to have it done with this baby? I will be askingn my OB next appt. too, but I thought I'd do some background research before I go to her, in case she brushes it off as an "oh it's something we all do, why wouldn't you want to, etc." topic.
Old 06-03-2011, 04:44 PM   #2
bigmamakelsey
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood:
Re: vitamin k and eye "goop" at birth

The eye goop is basically used if you have a venereal disease like clymidia (sp?) so the baby wouldn't go blind if exposed to the disease. I don't have any venereal diseases, so I refused it. The vit K helps clot blood, so we used vit. K drops.
Old 06-03-2011, 05:05 PM   #3
poskozim
Registered Users
seller

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmamakelsey View Post
The eye goop is basically used if you have a venereal disease like clymidia (sp?) so the baby wouldn't go blind if exposed to the disease. I don't have any venereal diseases, so I refused it. The vit K helps clot blood, so we used vit. K drops.