Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 10-03-2012, 07:49 AM   #1
Registered Users
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 360
My Mood:
Can I get some ideas of what to trim please?


currently struggling to pay our bills, things are getting behind, nothing left for anything. I am trying to shave some things from our budget to make it a bit easier but not sure what, would love some advice.

Our income is variable - dh is self employed but has a contract so 700 - 1000 a month is usually guaranteed, then usually about $200 a week extra so somewhere between 1500 - 1800 a month. I get 2000 a month so combined approx 3,500 - 3,800. per month

Usual expenses are

mortgage - 1300 per month
car ins - 75 per month
house ins - 65 per month
mobiles - 90 per month (dh and I)
landline - 38 per month approx (have to have for business calls)
repayments to mechanic - 100 per month (2,500 left to pay)
car rego's - 2 x cars - 133 per month
council rates - 250 per month
cable - 75 per month
water - 100 per month
Electricity - 400 per month
kindy and school fees - 68 per month

this includes no food, no petrol, no clothes, uniforms, gifts, etc etc and comes to around 2,700 - so that leaves $500 - $700 a month for all of that - we are a family of 10.

We were earning more but dh lost one contract.

We have no savings, no emergency fund (we did but we recently had to buy a new car), no choice it was no longer safe or repairable. Our superannuation has less than $3000 in it and we are in our 40's.

Good news - we have no credit card debt, no loans, no car loans, our only big debt is the house and it's worth more than what we owe.

What am I going to do Dh says he'll get another job but he may not and I dont want to wait til things are bad. What can I cut. We really need 2 cars as one is a 7 seater and even that doesn't hold our whole family, the other dh uses to get to and from his work.
Dh uses his mobile for work, mine I could cut easily but it's only a month into a new 2 yr plan

I would cut cable yesterday but dh wont hear of it, he doesn't have the money to go out so this is his only entertainment ( sport).

I'm using cloth, making things from scratch, making homemade cleaners etc but it's just not enough.

Add to this next month eldest dd is getting married and we have a heap of wedding expenses, outfits etc.

I just want to run away.
clothlover8 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2005 - 2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.