Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2012, 07:40 AM   #11
luvsviola's Avatar
Registered Users
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 17,103
My Mood:
Re: I'd like to continue to be a SAHM but I need to be a WAHM

Have you considered getting a daycare license? Also often if you work at a daycare, your kid can go for free or drastically reduced rate.

What hours does your DH work? Could you work at Target on weekends/nights?


Middle school teacher by day, super mom by night
Mommy to The Boss~2007, The Energizer Bunny~2009, and The Princess~2011
My kids are no longer in diapers, but somehow, my computer keeps finding its way back here...

Last edited by luvsviola; 11-01-2012 at 07:49 AM.
luvsviola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 07:46 AM   #12
L J's Avatar
Gazelle Intense
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sweet Home Alabama
Posts: 10,296
You could work a couple shifts a week in a restaurant making tips when your DH is off, so you don't have to pay childcare. I have done that on and off for years. In most full service chains (Olive Garden, Logan's, etc) you can make about $100 a shift for 4-6 hours of work.

Right now, we just moved and the commute to a full service restaurant would be absurdly long for me. So, I am doing some things online to make money.

I make about $100 a month on Swagbucks. I usually get Amazon gift cards but Paypal is an option, too.

I make another $20 with Superpoints. It's not much, but it takes about 5 minutes out of my day.

I am making a LOT with Surveyhead right now, around $160 a month the past three months, because they have an iPhone app (iPoll) that you can use to take surveys while inside stores. Those surveys are worth $10-50 for less than 5 minutes of time. I always get Visa gift cards through them, Paypal and Amazon are also options, but that's my grocery money. I think they have an app for Android, too.

I dabble in selling on eBay, because I have a good thrift store. Women's jeans are my big money maker, but that's hit or miss depending on what I can find and it's also rather labor intensive. Some weeks my kids just don't leave me alone long enough to get my pics done and listings set up.

I have also been posting on forums for Paypal. I don't think I'm allowed to link that here but you can message me if you want more info. They pay you per post and pay via Paypal. Before I moved I made $100 in 3 weeks, but I haven't been devoting as much time to it so I have only made about $20 a week the past two weeks.
Mama to Henry (01.07), Catherine (09.11), Audrey (04.14), Clare (09.15) and our newest addition, coming July 2017!
L J is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2005 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC. All Rights Reserved.