Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 12-14-2012, 11:22 PM   #1
UnderTheStars's Avatar
UnderTheStars
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: between the Mississippi and a cornfield
Posts: 6,895
My Mood:
If you had to choose...

I have two potential work schedules I have to choose between and I'm really having a hard time emotionally working it out in my head...I've been under a lot of stress and I feel like I'm having a hard time looking at it from a logical view point and thought maybe other opinions might help.

First Schedule (this was my original schedule): Mon 9am-8pm, Tues 9am-6pm, off Wed, off Thurs, Fri 9am-6pm, Sat 9am-6pm, Sun 12pm-6pm

Pros: I'm home most nights for family dinner and bedtime. I get to see my husband (he works 6am-2pm most days). I have free childcare arranged for Sat and Sun via my inlaws. It's consistent - I know exactly when I go in and when I leave. I'm available to manage problems at work with employees should one arise.

Cons: I would have to pay for childcare for three days of the week (which is very hard to do right now financially...we would really struggle to make it work). I would have to find a childcare provider who is very flexible, can take my DD to school, and can manage my special needs son. I miss out on a good majority of my kids' day and only see them for a few hours at night. It's a somewhat difficult schedule based on the work we do for me to keep up with demand.

Second Schedule (which I just currently switched to): Mon/Tues/Wed/Thurs/Fri/Sun 4:00pm - until I get the work done.

Pros: Much more efficient based on our workflow. Some days I could leave as early as 8pm if it's a slow day. I get to spend a good majority of the day with my kids. I don't have to find nor pay for a childcare provider. I would have Saturdays off (which I've NEVER had before in all of my working life) so I could actually participate in birthday parties and weekend activities. I don't have to deal with my MIL and her constantly feeding my kids junk food on the weekends. :/ I would be available whenever for any doctors appointments or possible ( ) therapy appointments for DS during the week.

Cons: Just this week, I have worked until midnight two of the nights and until 1am another (we've been very busy lately). I never see my husband except on his two days off because he gets home at 2:30pm each day and I leave around 3:30 for work and he's in bed before I get home. I am tired from working until 12-1am and then getting up with the kids early the next morning. Its a 6-day work week. I miss tucking my kids into bed at night and I miss the "me" time I used to have after they were in bed to get things done (and to putz around on DS )

I'm paid on salary, so it will be the same pay no matter what. What would YOU do? Any other observations I may not have thought of that may help me decide what's better?
__________________
Alex
[ mom to my cowboy ballerina and my boy-of-steel ]

Last edited by UnderTheStars; 12-14-2012 at 11:23 PM.
UnderTheStars is offline   Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2005 - 2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.