Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 09-17-2017, 07:18 PM   #1
Sisbear04
Registered Users

Toy Purge Questions

We are expecting a new little one in January and need to make room for baby. I feel like toys have taken over our home. My son will be 7 in a couple of weeks. Any idea on helping us help him get rid of some toys. He has way more stuff than he could ever play with. I want to keep some of his toys obviously but would love more room for us to be a family and play together. Also, toy storage systems to keep things up off the floor. What works good for your family. I am new to minimalist but would really love to declutter our stuff and simplify things in general house wide. Thank you in advanced for any tips or suggestions.

Advertisement

Sisbear04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 07:35 PM   #2
kmrotski
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: Toy Purge Questions

We always do a big purge before Christmas and around the begining of summer then a few here and there throughout the year. I think it's helpful for my oldest (12) to purge things around Christmas because it's his way of giving kids gifts that don't get anything for Christmas by getting rid of his toys that are just collecting dust. We started this when he was 8 or 9. It's gotten easier through the years because he has less stuff now so the purges aren't always huge any more but those first few were.
kmrotski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 08:46 PM   #3
jen_batten
Registered Users
seller
seller

^^ We are similar. We do regularly scheduled purges before Christmas and birthdays, then we also tend to sort things when we switch out seasonal clothing or any other time stuff starts to take over.

Right now most of the kids are pretty good about sorting out what they don't use, but when they needed a little encouragement we talked about how we were donating things they didn't use anymore to others that may need them.