Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 08-21-2008, 07:37 PM   #1
clarinetb
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Question about being away from 20 month old for 5 days

Hi! I'm going to be away for almost 5 days from our little one at 20 months old. She nurses a bit, not a tonne, at least twice a day. We've gotten away from night-time nursing as it seems to improve the sleep, but she loves to nurse in our bed in the morning.

Any advice from those who have been there and done that? I haven't pumped in months, but I'm thinking I should take it with me for when I get sore!

Advertisement

Old 08-21-2008, 11:28 PM   #2
kimsansf
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: Question about being away from 20 month old for 5 days

Ive done that.... not with a 20 month old... jackson was only 5 months, but I was away for 6 days.... (im a grad student too)

I would say get a pump, you will need one. You can pump a bit before you go to build up a freezer supply for her while you are away. That will do two things: make sure you have enough stored for her and increase your production before you leave so that if your production goes down while you are away, you have a little cushion.

I'd also introduce her a little to a bottle so that things arent too different all at once for her.

When i left I had over 300 oz in my freezer, but Jackson was EBF and I had way more than i needed, you probably dont need to have that much stored up if she is just nursing twice per day, but if you have your SO give her a bottle during one of her nursing times, you will get an idea of how much she drinks at each sitting and therefore, how much you need to store for her.

Kim-san: mama to Jackson 7.17.07 and expecting a Katie-bird 1.17.11
kimsansf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 06:35 AM   #3
clarinetb
Registered Users
seller

My Mood: