Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 08-09-2007, 11:42 AM   #1
Sweetp
Registered Users

My Mood:
Unhappy Ezcema on a 5month old! Help

My sweet 5 month old has a nasty rash of ezcema around his groin and it's on his face and chest. My ped recommended a steriod cream but I don't want to put it on him yet. What creams/ lotions help ezcema? I have no experience with this. What about vasoline? Ped recommended that.

Advertisement

Old 08-09-2007, 11:52 AM   #2
3Xblessed
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: Ezcema on a 5month old! Help

We use Aveeno lotion but to tell the truth we haven't had a break-out since we started using a humidifier in her room at night. Also I wouldn't use regular wipes...might be something in them cause the break-out.
Old 08-09-2007, 11:56 AM   #3
ChurchPunkMom
Registered Users
seller

Lotions you can try:
Aveeno
Aquaphor

If the itching is bad, you can try Eucarin anti-itch spray. How bad is it? Are you nursing? You can put breastmilk on it and let it dry, that REALLY helps.

Has he had new foods? using new detergents? disposable wipes? new wipe solution? It's important to find the cause to prevent future problems.
Old 08-09-2007, 11:59 AM   #4
Sweetp
Registered Users

My Mood:

Thank you for your advice. He's soley breastfed, no foods, wash in all free and clear. I think I might try the aveeno lotion, because someone else recommended that. Is it the aveeno lotion for ezcema and dry skin? Any others?
Old 08-09-2007, 11:59 AM   #5
ce&E
Registered Users