Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 08-30-2011, 12:54 PM   #1
trellisaze
Registered Users
seller

Diaper pails

Forgive me if this has been covered before, but I'm not really finding much when I search the forum.

What do you recommend for using as a diaper pail, when cloth diapering? Do you put anything in it to help with the smell? I am new at this - baby bean isn't born yet - and so far plan to dry pail, and wash at least every other day. If we have issues I may consider a wet pail and not totally sure about rinsing yet. We are also going to use cloth wipes, and I plan to EBF. Is there a specific pail liner you recommend? Do I need to get a fancy "diaper pail" or will a lidded trash can work? I have read that metal is better for plastic for the smells, just wondering what works for you ladies.

thank you!

Advertisement

trellisaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 01:14 PM   #2
MsGiggles
Registered Users

My Mood:
Re: Diaper pails

We use an Ikea "bin with lid" and a big purple Bummis waterproof bag. The bag fits snuggly, and we fill it up and do washes every 3-5 days. Having a second waterproof bag is awesome, so we just pull one bag out to take to the laundry, wipe the lid and any exposed surface with a cloth and vinegar (throwing that in the laundry bag), then add the fresh purple bag for the next round. Never had the smell become overpowering with this system (and I'm pg and super sensitive).
MsGiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 01:23 PM   #3
nasladybug
Registered Users
seller

Location: foothills of the Appalachian Moutains - North Georgia
My Mood:

I prefer wetbags to a pail and have never had an issue with smell.

We Jesus!
nasladybug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 01:49 PM   #4
Stoffmaus
Registered Users
seller

My Mood: