Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 06-06-2010, 03:44 PM   #1
BellyMonstersMama
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Diaper sewers - help me with fabric...!

I'm a beginner sewer but can usually figure out exactly how to make something by deconstructing what I want to make and then making one for myself out of the materials I like (have made full Medieval garb before, bodice with boning and all, so I guess I'm good at figuring out how to use my sewing machine...lol).

The problem I'm having is that cloth diapers require specific materials/fabrics that I'm not familiar with.

Microfleece?
Birdseye?
Suede cloth?

I'm not sure of the texture of any of these, or even what they look like. I could go into a local fabric store and ask someone working there, but the sad fact of the matter is, most people in the shops near me have no clue about fabric at all.

Does anyone know of a site where they have excellent pics of the fabrics so I could at least go to the fabric store armed with a little bit of info?

Thanks!

Advertisement

BellyMonstersMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 04:15 PM   #2
Havah
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood:
Re: Diaper sewers - help me with fabric...!

If you have a fleece jacket or vest, then you'll be familiar with microfleece. Thickness is up to your preference.
Suedecloth is just like it sounds: looks and feels a lot like suede, but it's polyester. It's not uncommon to see suedecloth used in Renaissance Faire costumes.
Go check out some Gerber dipes in the baby linens aisle at your local department/discount store. Those are made of birdseye (albeit low quality).

Here's a good site-

http://www.sewmanydiapers.com

Good luck! An kudos on your medieval reproductions! I have a medievalesque hooded riding habit that I want to render from two layers of wool jersey one of these days ...
Old 06-07-2010, 05:06 AM   #3
BellyMonstersMama
Registered Users
seller

My Mood: