Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 09-07-2010, 06:13 PM   #1
elibellij
Registered Users

Help! How to Get a 3 Year Old to Listen During Structured Activities

I'm a stay at home mom, so my 3 year old (just turned 3) doesn't have a lot of experience with structured activities. I'm a big believer in free play at this age. However, I'm a former teacher and realize how important it's going to be for him to be able to follow directions and do what everyone else is doing in a school setting, etc.

So, we've started taking him to some activities in our area we think will help him develop these skills.

He doesn't listen well during this structured time He's a good boy, in general. We're very, very consistent with him. But, he's also very strong willed. If he doesn't feel like doing it, he throws a fit. You never know if he'll be 100% into it and following along with the teacher (this happens sometimes, lol), or if he'll be stubborn and want to do what he wants to do, when he wants to do it (he does NOT get his way when this happens -- ever).

What would you do with a stubborn/strong willed child in this situation? I know he's only just turned 3 and they aren't necessarily ready for a lot of structured time (it's only 1-2 hours a day we do things like this...), but it seems like the other kids follow along so well It's embarrassing for all the other kids to be having such a great time and for mine to be screaming and trying to get to other activities in the room!

Tips?

Advertisement

elibellij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 06:34 PM   #2
doodah
Registered Users
seller

Re: Help! How to Get a 3 Year Old to Listen During Structured Activities