Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 10-25-2010, 08:45 PM   #1
chameleon607
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood:
DH not wanting to HS- helpful ideas welcome

DH told me tonight that DS#1 WILL be going to kindergarten next year. #1- not a good plan on his part to TELL me what WILL be happening, #2- I feel like he is really not taking a good look at our son and who he is, and #3- I've been exploring and researching homeschool for several years- not to mention working with my kiddos this year instead of sending them to preschool. I knew he was reluctant with homeschooling from the get-go and negative about it, but am not sure how to get him to see this in a positive light. He's told me that he doesn't think I can do this- and thinks that for Kinder, you must spend hours upon hours a day teaching and if I don't, I am doing a sub-par job and our kids will be behind academically. He doesn't know how I can do that with a 5 year old, a 3 year old, 18 month old, and a baby coming in January (these are current ages). I do see and understand his concerns, but I really feel that he's dismissing me as a mother and teacher and not to mention as his partner. If there were something that he looked this much into and felt this strongly about- I certainly would not dismiss it in the same way he did to me this evening. He agreed to homeschool preschool for this year because the preschool where I was working and had free tuition for my children shut down. Financially, with my loss of income, and the cost of another preschool, it would have been a VERY tight stretch. I felt like the preschool closing was a blessing- what better way to give homeschooling a go?? But, back to our discussion: