Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 11-08-2010, 11:17 AM   #1
Jesskaren
Registered Users

Inner fabric for pocket diapers

I'm totally new to cloth diapers so I really don't know much more than the tidbits I picked up in a class last week. I found a great pattern to make one-size pocket diapers and am concerned about what to use for the inner fabric.

The instructions say to use PUL on the outside and then either microfleece or suedecloth for the inside. (I'm making the inserts from terry cloth) I like could only find regular fleece, so I bought the thinnest I could find, but from what I've read people seem to like the suedecloth for the inside but it seems way too thin to me to use alone and I don't want to find out it leaks after I've made them all. (baby won't be here until February for me to try them out) Is it too much if I put a layer of fleece in covered by the suedecloth?

Please help, I want to do this correctly! Thank you!!!

Advertisement

Jesskaren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 11:24 AM   #2
m&m&m
Registered Users

My Mood:
Re: Inner fabric for pocket diapers

the suedecloth/microfleece is only to provide a "stay dry" layer, so you want it to be thin. You will need an actual "absorbant" material inside the pocket diapers. The urine passes through the "stay-dry" layer and is pulled to the absorbant material which leaves baby's bottom feeling dryer than just sitting in wet cotton.
m&m&m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 12:39 PM   #3
Jesskaren
Registered Users

Thank you so much, that is immensely helpful!
Jesskaren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 01:20 PM   #4
mariamommy
Registered Users
seller