Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!
Old 02-20-2011, 01:42 PM   #1
Registered Users
My Mood:
Easy Recipes - Learning to cook

okay...I'm a terrible cook but I am trying and would like to learn more recipes so I can help hubby out more. I'm really good with things that go in the crock pot and I have a great cheesy hashbrown casserole that hubby always requests. Anyone have any simple, easy, can't mess up() recipes to suggest? Thank you!!

abbysmommie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 09:56 PM   #2
Registered Users
My Mood:
Re: Easy Recipes - Learning to cook

Sure, what kinds of food do your family like??

Tuna Casserole:

One bag Egg Noodles
One can tuna
One can cream of mushroom soup
half soup can of milk
peas or corn

Cook noodles as per bag directions. Drain and return to pot. Add soup and milk. Drain tuna and watch for bones. Put tuna and peas in pot. Add salt and pepper. Stir together. Simmer for 10-15 minutes to heat through.
I am a WIC Breastfeeding Peer Counselor!!

My Avon Earn giftcards with Swagbucks My Blog - Change Jar Blog
kocho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 11:37 PM   #3
Registered Users

These aren't the healthiest, but here are a couple of easy no-fail recipes I used a lot when I was first learning to cook (well, I am still learning ):

Green bean casserole:

1lb hamburger, browned and drained
1-2 cans green beans, drained (I usually use two, or a bag of frozen)
1-2 cans cream of celery soup (or your choice of "cream of" soup). Again, I often use two, but depends on how you like it

Mix the above ingredients in a 9x13 pan. Top with a single layer of tater tots (usually about 1/2 bag or so) and cook in the oven according to heat/time listed on tater tots package.

For a variant on this recipe, just use corn instead of green beans, and tomato soup instead of "cream of" soup.
Casey, loving wife to John and mommy to Elsa (3/29/09) and Henry (4/28/11)