Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 03-22-2011, 07:19 AM   #1
kristin0907
Registered Users
seller

Stripping Sunbaby Diapers

Can someone tell me if Sunbaby diapers need stripped and if so, how to do it? I'm new to CD (baby due July 1) and I just ordered a dozen Sunbabies. Thanks!

Advertisement

kristin0907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 07:25 AM   #2
twinkerbell
Registered Users
seller

Re: Stripping Sunbaby Diapers

Stripping usually only needs to be done when there is build up on the diapers. If they are new you should only need to prep them. Since they are microfiber and not natural fibers you should only need to wash them once and they should be good to go!
Old 03-22-2011, 09:56 AM   #3
beccatown
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:

They need to be stripped. They initially repel water and have a smell to them. I just put in a little Dawn and that worked great. No problems over here.

Lane Louise Grace born 04/05/2011
beccatown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 10:03 AM   #4
todzwife
sitesupporter
seller
seller

My Mood:

Quote:
Originally Posted by beccatown View Post
They need to be stripped. They initially repel water and have a smell to them. I just put in a little Dawn and that worked great. No problems over here.
Uh, why would you have to strip a brand new diaper? Wash them once in hot with your desired detergent and they'll be fine.

FWIW, if you pour water on fleece, it WILL bead up. The reason that pocket diapers work is because the baby is putting pressure on it AND the force of the urine allows it to go through the fleece and into the microfiber insert.

As the PP mentioned, "stripping" is only if you get detergent build up. Usually making sure you rinse adequately will prevent the build up. We've been CDing for 7 years and I've only had to "strip" once, and that was because MIL used dreft and fabric softener.
todzwife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 10:29 AM   #5