Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 04-14-2011, 12:19 PM   #1
Captivated
Registered Users

Baby Steps to a more Green and Healthy Home

Hi~ I'm just starting out on this journey! It all started when I decided to use cloth diapers with my fourth baby. The baby is due in October.

I already have been trying to buy more organic food over conventional food.

What I'm looking for are little steps I can take to become more eco-friendly and healthier, room by room and in general. So here is what I thought of so far:

Kitchen
~replace all plastics with other options
~switch to cast iron cookware
~bake my own breads
~cooking and baking from scratch in general
~use reusable bags for grocery shopping

Bedrooms
~replace bedding and mattresses with organics

Bathrooms
~replace shower curtains
~find better beauty products

General
~learn how to garden
~start composting
~use a rain barrel

So this is what I can think of off the top of my head. I know there are many more things. And that's where all of you come in Please share with me your tips and whatever else

Thank you!

Advertisement

Captivated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 12:26 PM   #2
keonli
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: Baby Steps to a more Green and Healthy Home

Use less paper towels and use dish rags instead. You can toss them in with the CD's when you wash them.

Make your own cleaning solutions with vinegar, water, baking soda, and tea tree oil.

I am on the fence about replacing bedding and mattresses with organics. Just because you're replacing them with green options doesn't mean it's necessarily better. I think I read somewhere that it's much more green to use what you have, reuse by buying second hand than it is to toss usable stuff and buy brand new stuff that does use crude oils and result in pollutions.
keonli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 01:21 PM   #3
WooKid
Registered Users

My Mood: