Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 05-16-2011, 07:47 PM   #1
moobiegirl
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood:
extended maternity leave?

I'm posting this here because WOHM's may have experienced this issue. If it should be somewhere else I understand. Thanks

I'm a teacher and ds2 was born one week "too early" for me. Due to his birthday I should return to work for the final week of school (6 weeks). I was hoping to be able to stay out of work till September this time. My mw does not want me to return to work for that final week. She said that the end of year activities (ie packing up a classroom) will be too strenuous and I'm still at risk for bleeding. My school is in transition and we have to completely pack up our classroom to move to a new building for the fall. I'm ok with not returning to work, but I want to know if my short term disability will continue paying for the extra week (Aflac).

Anyone have experience with not being released exactly 6 or 8 weeks after delivery? I had a very typical pregnancy and delivery. I worked up until delivery. Contractions started Friday night after work - ds2 was born Saturday afternoon.

Advertisement

Old 05-16-2011, 08:08 PM   #2
MW69842
Banned/ Member requested
formerly equivocal
seller

My Mood:
I don't think AFLAC will continue to pay, unfortunately.

I know my short-term disability company (Cigna) was very straightforward. They'd pay for any medically necessary time off prior to delivery (I stopped working 3.5 weeks before DD was born due to the nature of my job) and would pay for 6 weeks following a vaginal delivery or 8 weeks following a c-section. No exceptions, regardless of how complicated the delivery itself was (I nearly died, and had to file a secondary claim to have my time/pay extended for THAT reason).