Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 05-19-2011, 01:43 AM   #1
sjh100
Registered Users
seller

Bumgenius-Adjusting one size diapers

So I'm new to CD-ing and have questions on adjusting the diapers as my baby grows. I have elementals and 3.0s mostly and the baby is 4 months, 18 pounds. Here goes:

1). For the 3.0s, when do you usually switch from the newborn to the infant insert?

I'm guessing I should have by now because sometimes I'm getting leaks from what I think is too much liquid in the newborn insert.

2). But since I'm on the first row of snaps, if I use the bigger insert, where does all the excess fabric go? (It feels like the insert is way to big for the pocket.) Do I need to bunch it up in the front because I have a boy? And if so, won't that be bulky and uncomfortable?

3). For the elementals, I'm also wondering where the excess inner fabric goes while my son is still on the smaller size (although this diaper seems a little trimmer than the 3.0)? Do I just squish it up wherever I want?

Sorry, I hope this makes sense. Thanks for the help!

Advertisement

sjh100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 01:50 AM   #2
2+2macht4
Super Moderator
sitesupporter
seller
seller

Location: In a quaint village smack in the middle of the black forest.
Re: Bumgenius-Adjusting one size diapers

My son is 5 months and 13 pounds. I use the second size setting with the larger insert and a doubler.
Old 05-19-2011, 01:50 AM   #3
sjh100
Registered Users
seller

Oh and one more question (sorry can't edit my post from the iPhone):

4). For the snap closure ( as opposed to Velcro) do you sometimes snap to different positions on either side to get the right fit? For instance, I've been using the 2nd and 3rd snaps respectively on either side because my son had grown out of the 3rd snap on both sides. Is that bad? Will the diaper somehow not work effectively if I do that? Thanks !!
sjh100 is offline   Reply With Quote