Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 06-08-2011, 12:20 PM   #1
MommaShauna
Registered Users

New to CDing. Washing HE tips needed!

Hi!
I am new to CDing! So far I have been using Best Bottoms/Smartipants/SoftBums. I did my first load in Tide Free and Clear HE on my sanitary cycle. Diapers came out stinky but stain free. Did my second load (diapers only sat for 24hrs) with BumGenius powder. Used 1/2 tblsp and pre washed, used hot cycle (not sanitary) and extra rinse. Diapers came out still stinky and poo didn't rinse off Best Bottom Shell or SoftBottom insert. That particular insert came out Green! So I washed them again 1 full tblsp BumGenius powder normal cycle hot water and extra rinse. Still a little stinky and now the insert is mustard yellow! I gave up and layed them outside hoping that the sun will do some natural stain/stink removal...

I borrowed these diapers from a friend and I did realize that when my daughter peed in them it seemed like it activated some pretty serious stink.

What am I doing wrong? How can I wash the diapers effectively with a HE unit? I need to buy my own detergent and wonder what is working for you guys. Anyone use Rockin Green?

Thanks!

Advertisement

MommaShauna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 12:35 PM   #2
HaleysMommy
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
If they were stinky as soon as they were pees in then they weren't clean to begin with.

You're probably not using enough detergent and since they're already dirty the problem is being compounded.

More in a minute -- baby is awake and screaming
HaleysMommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 12:37 PM   #3
mariamommy
Registered Users
seller

Re: New to CDing. Washing HE tips needed!

Doesn't sound like enough detergent either. I use 1/4 cup of liquid Tide He. Also, microfiber is famous for holding stink, its really hard to get out. Bleach the inserts, not the shells.
Old 06-08-2011, 12:41 PM   #4
poppan
Registered Users