Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 06-12-2011, 11:08 AM   #1
CalebsMome
Registered Users

My Mood:
After School Care Advice

This is long, and no flames about the job situation. I'm not asking for advice about that.

DH and I have worked at a group home for 4 years. I have a degree, and we're both looking really hard for jobs at home. However, we haven't been able to find anything. We've been looking for over a year. I'm almost finished with my Billing and Coding course, so we probably will be out of here soon. It's 6 1/2 hours in another state from where we live. My mom lives right beside us though. She is in very good health, very competent, and I trust her with my son, which I can't say about a lot of people. The thing is, school starts soon. DS will be in 5-K. The best solution we can come up with is to have DS stay with my mom when we are at work. We work a two week shift and then are home two weeks. It's not ideal, and it SUCKS, but homeschooling isn't right for us. One of us could get a job any moment. We have LOTS of resumes, calls, contacts, etc out there. We're pretty well connected in the community.We just haven't found anything yet. We are doing everything we can. Here's the thing: DS has been asked to be on the swim team. We've told him for quite a while that once he starts 5-K he can join. It's the #13 swim club in the nation. He has a nack I've never seen before for the water. This child can out swim any adult he has raced. (adult family members, not competitive swimmers). Anyway, my thinking is that my mom has to work. When we get home, we'll have to work. His age group practices at 4 pm. None of us will be off work in time. It's three times a week. He needs to do it though. He needs something he loves, is active, and is all year. Like I said, the child has a natural talent that caused them to ask him to be on the team. We waited year, because I thought 4 was too young. Here's the thing. My idea is to have a