Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 07-24-2011, 01:08 PM   #1
IslaRose
Registered Users

Please explain the concern about bleach and microfiber...?

I'm new to cloth and still learning.

Please explain to me why some mamas don't like using bleach or bleached products (I know it's a harsh chemical but doesn't it rinse out well?)

and

What are the issues/concerns with microfiber?

Thanks!

Advertisement

IslaRose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 02:43 PM   #2
KimA
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood:
Re: Please explain the concern about bleach and microfiber...?

Bleach is a nasty chemical and it pollutes the environment. A lot of moms don't use it fir those reasons. I don't ever recommend the use of bleach, commercial detergents, or additives like Calgon that contain phosphates, that is just me though. I have done enough research to know how damaging these products are to our environment.

Microfiber is difficult to get clean and is notorious for developing stink and repelling. Some babies are sensitive or allergic to it.

In my opinion natural fibers like cotton, hemp and bamboo are the best for cloth diapering.
KimA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 03:26 PM   #3
MrsA08
Registered Users
seller

I am actually on the bleach wagon. I feel like if you are going to be reusing something that can harbor bacteria you need a cleaning agent that is powerful enough to get that bacteria out. I don't use bleach a lot, but about once a month all of my inserts are bleached.

I have all microfiber inserts. I think what people dislike about them is that they do tend to get stinky after use, but as previously mentioned, bleach seems to take care of this with no problem.
Old 07-24-2011, 03:32 PM   #4
SarahR.
Registered Users
seller

My Mood: