Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 07-28-2011, 08:18 PM   #1
nursemama23
Registered Users
seller
seller

Question for non co-sleeping mamas

For those moms that don't co-sleep, how do you handle nights? DD is 6 weeks old (still 2 weeks shy of her due date-born at 32weeks) most nights she nurses every 1-2 hours with one 3 hour stretch (if I'm lucky). I'm exhausted but I know this is temporary. However I'm going back to work in 4-6 weeks and need to get a little more sleep to function safely (I'm an ER nurse). I don't want to bring her to bed with me, we did that with DD2 and it just didn't work for DH and I plus being an ER nurse, SIDS risk are drilled into my brain. Unfortunately right now if we have a bad night I end up falling asleep in the recliner while feeding her. TIA!

Advertisement

Old 07-28-2011, 08:28 PM   #2
doodle19
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: Question for non co-sleeping mamas

bring her to bed just to nurse that way you can at least be laying down?

I think if you don't co sleep then your probably not going to get any more sleep than what you are b/c you'll have to get up and down up and down for those feedings right? At least until she starts giving you longer stretches. Maybe she will before you go back to work

Last edited by doodle19; 07-28-2011 at 08:31 PM.
doodle19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 09:40 PM   #3
VeganCupcake
Registered Users
seller
seller

You know that sleeping with her in the recliner is much more dangerous than safe bedsharing, right?

My DS spends a lot of the night in a crib or Pack n' Play. We kept the PnP at the foot of our bed, and then when every snuffle and sigh was waking me, we moved it to our walk-in closet (with the door open). I always nurse side-lying in the bed at night, but I can't generally fall asleep while nursing. Would something like that be better for you?
Old 07-28-2011, 09:52 PM   #4
ayer79
Registered Users
seller

My Mood: