Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 08-25-2011, 11:32 AM   #1
thisismiss
Registered Users
seller

Calling all EPers :)

Just wanted to say.... hello

Well, I am kind of new to DS, and very new to this section of the forums. From what I can tell, there seems to be a lot of mamas out there who exclusively pump. I don't know anyone else who does, so it's really nice to read about so many other mamas who are doing it too.

I have been for almost five months now because my daughter refused to latch once my milk came in. I thought pumping was going to be temporary until my supply settled and she could get used to it more. It turns out, she just preferred the convenience of the bottle and no matter what the LCs did (I saw about five) we couldn't get her to latch.

I'm fortunate enough to make a lot of milk. On a bad day I save only two or three bottles, and on a good day I save seven. (I average five though) So that's between 10oz and 35oz each night. I've been donating that milk to another mama who can't produce any milk of her own.

I'm really glad I can still provide for my daughter, and even help out another mama. A lot of times I really want to give up EP, but I just can't imagine giving her formula. Seeing how long so many other mamas have been able to keep on going really inspires me to keep going, so thank you

Advertisement

thisismiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 06:52 PM   #2
mmm0302
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: Calling all EPers :)

How many times a day do you pump, just out of curiosity? I don't exclusively pump, but pretty much do. (I nurse her once or twice a day - in the middle of the night and first thing in the morning, but once she really wakes up, she get frustrated with the slow flow). Anyway, even when I pumped for every feeding she took, I didn't pump enough milk to cover what she was eating.
Old 08-25-2011, 06:57 PM   #3
smokeyswife
Registered Users
seller

My Mood: