Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 11-29-2011, 11:02 PM   #1
burgler
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood:
Balancing Being Green and Being Minimalist

I am so happy to have this new forum! DH is really, really good at being minimalist and at being green. I am still learning, in both categories. However, something that we both struggle with is how to balance these things. We have become MUCH better at being minimalist by avoiding accumulating things in the first place. Our friends and family know that we don't want stuff and are largely supportive of our desire for consumable or experience-based gifts. However, with the stuff that we have or receive, we end up being slightly pack-rattish, out of the desire to a) not have it sit in a landfill, and b) knowledge that we could re-purpose it and make it useful some day rather than having to buy something new. We rent a converted garage, which is a small studio apartment for us, our 7.5 month son and our dog, and the small space helps us to stay minimal, but we still struggle with this balance - and thus have two sheds filled outside.

The other thing I slightly struggle with is that I like to craft and DH likes to build. These hobbies require infrastructure and if it is too packed away, we don't get to enjoy these hobbies. Just a little question that we ask ourselves when we think about what size place we might want to live in the future.

Advertisement

Old 11-30-2011, 12:30 PM   #2
pgkcb13
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood:
Re: Balancing Being Green and Being Minimalist

I struggle there too, like the pie pans from thanksgiving... I could re-purpose them for art projects, but then I'd have to store them... I'm trying to find alt ways of re-purposing things, like donating a bunch of recycled items to a local preschool for crafts (tp tubes, pie oans, etc), or leaving small bits of string from craft projects out for the birds for nesting material...