Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 12-21-2011, 02:06 PM   #1
rcima
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Potty Recommendations? and other Potty Learning suggestions

DD just turned one and we're going to start getting her used to the idea of using the potty. Which potty would you recommend? Also, I'm totally new to this idea of 'Potty Learning' as opposed to 'Potty Training', so any other suggestions are welcome.

Advertisement

rcima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 02:28 PM   #2
mibarra
Registered Users
seller

We got the Fisher Price 'Royal' Potty. Pretty basic. I put it in the bathroom and let DD come in with me. At first she just played with it, then she sat with her clothes on whenever mommy went, then wanted to pull her pants down. She will use the potty completely independently if naked. That's as far as we've gotten. At 1, I'd be surprised if your DD started showing readiness signs before another year, but you can start laying the foundation now by teaching her and letting her observe what happens in the bathroom
mibarra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 03:10 PM   #3
me_just_me
Registered Users

My Mood:
Re: Potty Recommendations? and other Potty Learning suggestions

IMO, the best little potty is the BBLP (Baby Bjorn Little Potty) It is one piece, so super easy to clean and small enough for little ones to use.

The book Diaper Free Before 3 is a great book. It will tell you how to introduce your little one to the potty, what times to put your little one on the potty so as to have the best chance of having them actually go, and what to expect at each stage. It is a great book for starting out at a year!

I also recommend checking out the ECing section here or another ECing group. They will have lots of advice on how to introduce the potty at what is now days considered "early".