Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 01-04-2012, 08:18 PM   #1
valeriem
Registered Users
seller
seller

Any parents of deaf children?

My daughter age 5 now is deaf, lost her hearing when she was 3. We have a new little one we are watching closely. I just found this board but would love to find other parents of deaf children

Advertisement

valeriem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 09:17 PM   #2
mibarra
Registered Users
seller

DD1 is hearing impaired with auditory neuropathy. 1 cochlear implant, 1 hearing aid. Please feel free to PM me if you have questions. DD2 has normal hearing so I can tell you about the difference I saw in my hearing and hearing impaired babies.
mibarra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 09:26 PM   #3
reesie
Registered Users
seller

Re: Any parents of deaf children?

I am not the parent of a deaf child but am interested in your observations. I am a peds nurse practitioner and frankly not too fond of ever missing anything. Tell me what you noticed if you wouldnt mind. I know we do newborn hearing screens and that does pick up some issues.
reesie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 05:50 AM   #4
valeriem
Registered Users
seller
seller

Dd's hearing loss was progressive. She passed her newborn hearing screening and was talking at a normal age. We didn't realize that she was loosing her hearing or even question it till she was 3. There is no hearing loss in our family. By the time we figured it out she had list everything in one ear and had a moderate loss in the other. It has continued to go down. She has a CI now and is doing very good. Her audiologist and ENT have said she probably had some loss at birth.