Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 01-07-2012, 01:35 PM   #1
momofsoon2b4
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Considering Breastfeeding...advice please :)

I am pregnant with my 6th and final baby. I have never breastfed any of my children, though I considered it with my last but he came premature and I was no where near prepared when he came. I am due at the end of February and would like to start preparing because it looks as though this little one will be premature as well since she has tried to come several times already.

To be honest I have never been a boob person that is why I have never tried before, though I am trying to change that and also trying to steer clear of formula since we are now eating and living more organically.

My questions are:

What kind of supplies do I need?

Do I really need a pump? I have access to a pump if I decide to breast feed but I did not know if this was a necessity.

What's your best advice for a first time breast feeder?

Do I need special bras and tops? I know they make these, I do have one nursing tank, but that is it.

Also I have seen a lot of controversy lately about breast feeding in public, so my questions on this are do you feed in public or how do you feel about feeding in public. I would feed in public I think if I had a sling or shawl to cover myself with so I was not too out in the open, but wasn't sure how or what others might do. So curious.

Any advice would be great...I am CLUELESS when it comes to this.

A HUGE THANK YOU to all of you for reading this and any help you provide.

Advertisement

Farm Fresh Creations: use code "AmandaFriend" to save 10% off your order! http://www.etsy.com/shop/JAKRabbitry?ref=ss_profile
momofsoon2b4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 02:56 PM   #2
BritishBaby
Registered Users
seller

Number 1 thing I can recommend is a good nursing book. I have the womanly art of breastfeeding. It has been a life saver!