Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 01-10-2012, 06:18 AM   #1
jnei
Registered Users
seller

What are longies? And other questions...

I'm new to cd with my first lil girl. Right now we're using gDiapers to kind of help transition into cd. I have ordered some pocket dipes (different brands to see what works best) and plan on trying some AIOs, but as a new cd mom - what did you find worked easiest for you? Also, could you explain why and any terminology that may be confusing?

If I'm using a pocket diaper, do I need to buy anything additional, like prefolds or extra inserts?

Why do some prefer prefolds/flats to pockets/AIOs?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm just trying to figure this out!

Advertisement

jnei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 07:18 AM   #2
jnei
Registered Users
seller

Anyone care to help?
Old 01-10-2012, 07:29 AM   #3
traderbren
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood:
Re: What are longies? And other questions...

Prefolds and flats are less expensive and easier to clean than pockets/ AIOs. That's why a lot of mama's go that route.

My stash started with BG 4.0's. I love them. I use the inserts they came with and have had no problems. Some mama's get microfiber stink, and so will use prefolds or flats in place of the insert- again- easier to clean because of the natural fibers.

I then bought a few prefolds and covers to expand my stash so I didn't use my BG's so much and wear them out too soon- when I started I had to do wash every day because of my small stash. I like the ease of prefolds. But then I HAD to try flats...

Flats are my favorite. I like to fold them, I love how easy they are to get clean, and how nice they smell and feel out of the dryer. They are also cheap, so I was able to get a dozen for $22. The only time I have to wash every day now is if I am sick and DH is on diaper duty- he only uses the BG's.