Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 01-10-2012, 06:09 PM   #1
Randijo2
Registered Users
seller

Question about prepping

Hi all! I'm new to this and have diapers on the way and my detergent on the way (Country Save) I am wondering... do you have to use detergent while prepping or can you just use water? Also how many times is it usually necessary to wash for prepping. And one more question... When you buy used do you do anything special to make sure there's no bacteria in there from the last user? Thanks so much for any input!

Randi

Advertisement

Randijo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 06:30 PM   #2
RockinLou
Registered Users
seller

Re: Question about prepping

Yes, use detergent to prep.

How many preps depends upon the materials.

Used diapers do not need prepping, but I always wash used with 1/8 cup of bleach before use, just because.

WELCOME to the madness!!
RockinLou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 08:09 PM   #3
Randijo2
Registered Users
seller

Thanks for your response! The washing and drying of cloth dipes is definitely the most intimidating thing about them!
Old 01-10-2012, 08:49 PM   #4
AudreyNola
Registered Users
Formerly: wyatt'smom
seller

I've never bought new pfs, so I've never had to do any major prepping. That said, I did just recently read that you should wash and dry the diapers several times. I'd always assumed you could just wash them several times in a row. I'd love to know if that's the way everyone does it, and/or why its important to also dry while prepping.
Old 01-10-2012, 08:56 PM   #5
Almacham
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randijo2 View Post