Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 01-12-2012, 03:32 AM   #1
2+2macht4
Super Moderator
sitesupporter
seller
seller

Location: In a quaint village smack in the middle of the black forest.
ANyone have experience with milk and wheat allergy?

Went to our new pediatrician today and she looked over DS. She thinks his exzema is a reaction to wheat and milk. She also said no citric foods, no nuts, no eggs.

I assume since I breastfeed I have to cut out the same items?

SHe said it is not the same as a gluten or lactose intolerance, that its a what allergy she thinks.

Has anyone had either of these, she said to use spelt instead of wheat and to use goat cheese and milk.

I have no experience in this and have no clue where to even begin to change our diet, how to get meal ideas ect. Could I just use gluten free recipes?

Any tips?

Also is anyone vegetarian? She said to be careful with soy, but most veggie items here are soy based. Not sure what I should eat now. GOat milk and cheese scares the crap out of me

Advertisement

Old 01-12-2012, 04:24 AM   #2
jbug_4
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: ANyone have experience with milk and wheat allergy?

Yes you would need to cut everything out of your diet. Did your doc do blood work? Skin test? Is she basing this opinion solely on eczema? Because you can have eczema without a food allergy. Are you suppose to be temp avoiding these foods and adding them back in one at a time? What is the plan?

Citric foods are tough on little stomachs- that's the only reason I can think of for the citrus. The others are part of the top food allergies, most common food allergies.

Gluten free is not the same as wheat free. But you would probably be safe using gluten free stuff/recipes- you have to read your labels. I am not sure how Germany does it,but in the US all of the things that your suppose to avoid have to be listed on the label in a "contain" statement.