Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 01-28-2012, 08:44 AM   #1
Skybaby712
Registered Users
seller

beginner knitter wanting to buy wool yarn...

Me! I finally got my knitting down and am ready to knit some longies, but am clueless about what kind of wool yarn to buy. There are literally hundreds that pop up in the Etsy search, and on Google there is such a wide variety, wide price range, etc... I'm so confused! I also couldn't find any at my local Walmart, but that's the only place I looked at IRL.

1. What do you look for when buying good quality yarn?
I know it's better to get 100% wool and worsted.
2. Is there anywhere local that sells yarn that you knitters would actually use?
3. Any other info and SPAM welcome I am a total newbie with this.

Advertisement

Old 01-28-2012, 09:19 AM   #2
HGrace
Registered Users
seller
seller

Re: beginner knitter wanting to buy wool yarn...

Welcome to the dark side of knitting and buying yarn I gues what I'd ask first, to help narrow it down for you:

-how old is your baby? are you more interested in soft wool that may pill some? or to have sturdier wool that may not be AS soft but won't pill? (important if you have an immobile baby vs a crawler vs a walker)
-what would you like to keep your price range at? You can find skeins starting under $10 or can go as high as around $20-25. Depends on type of yarn, if its hand-dyed, etc. But if you know what you're willing to spend, it can cut down the vast amount of options
Old 01-28-2012, 10:10 AM   #3
JeDeeLenae
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood:
Have you looked for a local yarn store? You could start there. Otherwise, just **** ashby worsted weight, 100% wool yarn would do. I'd stay away from those that say 100% merino wool, usually that is just Patons/Fisherman's wool, IME.

Using my DS app, please excuse the lack of proofreading.

JeDeeLenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 10:11 AM   #4
tanabanana81
Registered Users
seller