Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 03-01-2012, 12:00 AM   #1
mandabug2
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Please help me with HE washer/ai2

I am new to cloth diapering. I wash my diapers daily. I am having an ammonia problem and I can't tell if it is because of not washing the diapers with enough detergent or too much. I have an HE front loader (a slightly older model). I am using Arm & Hammer Sensitive Skin and it is on the OK list for the diapers I am using. I had just been using a small amount (probably a 1/2 Tbsp maybe less) and I read something that said to use 1 Tbsp. I tried that and I had suds for 2 more heavy duty cycles and 3 more rinses.

I really don't want to give up on cloth diapers but I feel like I am spending more time researching this type of stuff than spending time with my twins. Am I just not cut out for this or is there a learning curve? I just feel like there is the night time/nap time issue and washing issue.

Advertisement

Last edited by mandabug2; 03-01-2012 at 12:02 AM.
mandabug2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 01:43 AM   #2
raagen
Registered Users
seller

That's a tiny amount of detergent. I'd do the recommended amount of detergent according to the washer and/or detergent (not the diaper company those directions are usually crap). It's ok to see suds in your rinse. If your diapers don't smell clean, consider switching to a different detergent. Are you doing a pre-wash (not a rinse)? I find that necessary with a front loader.

Sent from my iPhone using DS Forum
Old 03-01-2012, 04:48 AM   #3
sarahannecloud9
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: Please help me with HE washer/ai2

Please ignore the crap in those lists first of all!!
Are your dirties open to ventilation?
Hard, soft, normal water?
Do you prewash?
What temp of water are you using?
Some suds in the rinse is ok if they arn't causing repelling.
Sounds like you are using way too little detergent.
What material are the diapers.