Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2012, 05:08 PM   #1
SkyeBattest's Avatar
SkyeBattest
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 508
HELP! Washing machine ? HE top loader

how many people have a HE top loader water saver washing machine? I was prepping diapers and oh my gosh im worried cause it barely puts ANY water in the machine! I can't imagine once they get pee and poop on them. I heard of using the towel trick and wetting a large towel to throw in the wash. I tried cancel the machine and start it again to try and get more water in but that didn't work it just drained the water before starting again -_- and it also ONLY does cold rinses.. it has a function to rinse/spin only but I have no control over the water temp for rinse.. only the wash cycle. It's a Maytag ecoconserver low water washer. Anyone else have something similar and can share there wash routine?

Advertisement

__________________
Skye ~cloth diapering, babywearing, keeping our boy whole, organic loving, crunchy Momma to one cute little boy born 6/22/12 Hunter Wyatt ~ and currently TTC baby #2

ISO: Chelory AI2's

SkyeBattest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 05:22 PM   #2
aries416
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,527
Re: HELP! Washing machine ? HE top loader

I don't know anything about that brand, but I have LG front loaders and I've never had an issue with diapers not getting clean enough. I do a cold wash, then a sanitary wash with an extra rinse.
__________________
Eleanor, mama to Maren (07.05.08) and Grant (10.20.10)
aries416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:42 PM   #3
cutebluebaby's Avatar
cutebluebaby
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Central PA
Posts: 3,409
My Mood:
Re: HELP! Washing machine ? HE top loader

I've got a TLing GE Profile, and it does the exact same thing yours does with the draining the water. I don't see how that's an efficient system. I have learned to keep mine set to "super" rather than "Auto Sense / Precise Fill", and let the washer fill as far as it's going to (halfway) before I start adding in the laundry and closing the lid. Once I close that lid though, I can't mess around with the wash settings or cancel the cycle. It also has the cold only rinse, but so did my old (non HE) TLer. That said, I don't have an issue with it getting the diapers clean.

What exactly are you prepping? If you're prepping prefolds, I would just boil them because you'll use a lot less water, and you can get the water hotter to strip more of the oils. If it's other diapers to run through two or three times before use, you'll be fine to use the washer.
__________________
Kate: wife to D
Mom to Z (7.2.2005), N (7.29.2009) , & A (1.9.2012)

Fabrics : Fitteds : Inserts : Boy Clothes : Girl Clothes
cutebluebaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 11:34 PM   #4
edenshale
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 56
My Mood:
Re: HELP! Washing machine ? HE top loader

I was having the same problem from my front loading HE washer. The brand is Amana. It doesn't have any "fancy" settings. I was using a rinse & then a wash but that wasn't cutting it. So now I have it rinse, hot heavy duty wash & then another rinse. That seems to be doing much better for us.
edenshale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2005 - 2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.