Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 05-24-2012, 01:41 AM   #1
BeccaSueCongdon
Registered Users
seller
seller

Anyone have children with Sensory Processing Disorder?

I am new to Diaper Swappers as of today. Yay!

My 4 year old son was recently diagnosed with Sensory Processing Disorder and has had two sessions of Occupational Therapy already which seem to be going really well. We are fortunate to live in Portland, Oregon - which has several really great clinics for SPD.

I'm looking to connect with other parents of children with SPD. I'll be back at some point to share more of out story, but for now I'd love to hear how old your child is, how long since you've had a diagnosis, what specific challenges your child has, and what has "worked" well to help your family manage and cope.

Advertisement

BeccaSueCongdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 11:13 AM   #2
Shaunam
Registered Users

Re: Anyone have children with Sensory Processing Disorder?

We're thinking DS will be diagnosed with this. He's in PT currently, originally for toe-walking, then we discovered he was having other physical issues as well. They recommended OT, which he'll probably start in a week or two. We'll do speech too since he's still a little behind and has some oral sensitivities anyway.

He'll also be evaluated in the autism clinic. They want to see if he's on the spectrum before going ahead with treating his anxiety.

For him the biggie is the anxiety. He's a very high-strung child. I think the sensory stuff aggravates his anxiety, if not brings it on entirely. The doctors were talking ADHD but I don't feel that's right. I think he has difficulty focusing because of the sensory stuff.

Early on, he had a ton of issues with eating. He couldn't eat solids at all until 15 months and didn't stop puking at every meal until he was two. He just gagged on *everything*. That gave him food anxiety issues that he's just now outgrowing.