Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 06-23-2012, 06:49 PM   #1
Gabrielsmama
Registered Users
seller

Babywear-newbie with zillion questions and overwhelmed...

Hi all

Now that I studied cloth diapering and finally have made sense out of it, as well as have my dipe stash ready for my son (to be born in 5 weeks), I've started reading about babywearing and carriers...and feel so lost and overwhelmed by all the information! So many brands and names for different carriers, which is best and which is not so good... phew! .

The things I DO know are that the baby should be facing you (if in the front), as well as that the legs should be in frog position. I got a Baby Bjorn a long time ago from Craigslist as I thought it'd be good but learnt it makes baby's legs hang straight. Ok, I will get rid of it. I also found an Infantino carrier at Goodwill for less than 3 bucks...I looked at it and there's 1 row of snaps in the bottom (where baby's crotch/butt would be) and unsnapped the legs would definitely hang straight. Snapping the snaps makes it look a bit different, not sure if it would work or not...(what comes to legs not hanging straight).

I also know there are structured carriers, slings and woven wraps. But... not sure of all the brands! I've heard good stuff about Ergo, Boba and Beco, as well as Girasol. Now I'm reading there are different types in each brand, newer and older models...confuses me more, lol!. I know that I may want something "convenient", not sure if I wanna deal with woven wraps. Hubby will babywear as well, so I think something "easier" than a woven wrap may be the best option (I know there are tons of people who love woven wraps though!). Also I don't know about ring slings, as I'm 6,1" tall and have scoliosis and generally "not-so-great" back--I think a carrier that distributes the weight evenly would be the best. Hubby is 6,4", also has some back issues from a rough landing when jumping out of a plane...