Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 07-11-2012, 04:31 PM   #1
5PrincessMommy
Registered Users
Formerly: Mrs_Brady
seller
seller

Co-sleepers help me!

I have been co-sleeping for like 10 years, no joke. I co-slept with all my babies until they are about 3 and then they move to their own bed. I currently have my 2 year old and 7 month old in bed with me. Now, here's the problem. My 2 y/o doesn't fall out of bed, bc she's developed that "sense" I guess you'd call it. We have a bed rail on one side of the bed. My 2 y/o sleeps on the side without a rail, I sleep in the middle, and my 7 month old sleeps on the other side of me with the bedrail. I do it this way b/c my 2 y/o will roll over onto my 7 month old. Oh yeah, if you are wondering where dh sleeps, it's on the couch b/c there's no room for him. He actually doesn't mind it, b/c he likes to fall asleep to the TV, but I do mind. So, we need to get a bigger bed, but are saving up for it. Anyway, here's the problem.

Last night, the baby was asleep in bed and dh and I were in the living room. Dh hears the baby fuss (we leave the door open), and so I go in and see her RIGHT on the edge of the bed (she crawls). She crawled PAST the rail. SO I like gasped and ran but when I gasped I scared her, and she "jumped" and fell right off the bed! I literally dove and tried to catch her, and I sort of did. She landed sort of half way in my arms. She was okay, thank god. BUT obviously this is a problem. If she wakes up, she can just crawl right off if I am not in bed. So, how do you keep them contained when you aren't in bed? I'd literally have to get rails to surround the whole bed I guess? Or do i need to buy a dreaded CRIB??? I seriously doubt she'll sleep in a crib. I nurse her to sleep and then sneak out of bed. If I had to transfer her, she'd wake up for sure.

Are there any solutions at all, besides just going to bed when she does?

Advertisement

Old 07-11-2012, 04:36 PM   #2