Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 08-18-2012, 09:25 AM   #1
Christen9302
Registered Users
seller

Help with loveybums wool!

I am new to wool, and just bought 2 wool covers, a loveybums interlock and a disana soaker. I lanolized them, and tried out the loveybums the first time last night. It leaked everywhere!!! I have heard they are excellent covers, so what am I doing wrong?? Do I need to lanolize more than once?

Advertisement

Christen9302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 10:33 AM   #2
Lagoon Baby
Registered Users
Formerly: Nat1111
seller

I would suggest lanolizing again, make sure to focus on the "wet zone". What are you using underneath?

http://www.lagoonbaby.com Huge selection of cloth diapers in Canada!
http://www.facebook.com/lagoonbaby
Lagoon Baby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 11:02 AM   #3
Christen9302
Registered Users
seller

A loveybums organic fitted. Maybe I need to add another doubler???
Old 08-18-2012, 11:06 AM   #4
FriedaT
Registered Users
seller
seller

For brand new covers, I always lanolize twice (lanolize, dry fully, lanolize again, dry fully, then use the first time), after that I only lanolize as needed. I also, personally, like to lanolize until the cover is a bit sticky. It'll wear off and feel normal after the first use.

I agree with pp, what's underneath? If the diaper is completely soaked then you'll have compression leakage because the liquid won't pool in the cover or have no escape like a PUL cover. Wool will repel the moisture back into the diaper until it's reached it's lanolin limit, absorb a little, and then start pressing through. My DD is a very heavy wetter so she usually has a good bit of padding under her wool.

I'd try lanolizing one more time and using a more absorbent diaper underneath. Good luck and keep us updated!

ETA: you responded while I was typing Yes, I'd definitely try adding a doubler.
Old 08-18-2012, 03:13 PM   #5
bigmamakelsey