Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 11-08-2012, 01:28 PM   #1
newcdmommy29
Registered Users
seller

Doula or not

DH and I are discussing having a doula this time. He says that we are going to be at a birthing center so we won't need one because the midwife will be there. I think at it would be a good idea because if there are other labors going on then the midwife will be in and out. So...what do you guys think? We've had a baby already in a hospital setting and I got medicine that I didn't REALLY want. Another reason I'm voting for a doula. DH was great but he and I both needed additional support I think.

Advertisement

newcdmommy29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:31 PM   #2
fwm0615
Registered Users
seller

Re: Doula or not

I'm no expert in this but I had doula with my hospital birth. My midwife, who said they normally only have 2 or so women in labor at one time, had 5 women in labor. Two of us were attempting for natural child birth. She was totally swamped! We were glad we had our doula. I'm not sure about in a birthing center, it may be a little more lax, but remember that doulas cannot give you medical advice. I loved my doula because she worked so hard to make me comfortable but also keep labor moving. She also talked to our midwife when dh and I were in the midst of transition aka totally focused. So that was nice because she could tell the MW things that neither one of us were able to communicate at that time. Good luck!
fwm0615 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:34 PM   #3
songbird516
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:

It depends on the center. My midwife runs a small birth center, but even at the homebirth she had another midwife and an assistant, so she doesn't usually work with doulas, although she's fine if a client hires one. It's just generally not necessary, because the birth assistant is also a trained doula and tends to fill that role.