Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 11-12-2012, 05:49 PM   #1
mrspopo
Registered Users
seller
seller

Finding gender neutral products?

I'm a little new to this since my oldest is only 18 months. But how do you find gender neutral products? Several times I've been looking for something only to be stuck with 2 choices: blue with cars or pink with princesses. Bath soap, electric tooth brushes, even bandaids. I'm not even going to get into clothes. I'm not sure how I'll feel about it when she's a little bit older and has a preference, so I'd love to hear from people that have BTDT already.

I guess gender neutral parenting can be done in many ways. I just strive to avoid stereotypes and be open-minded as baby figures out their identity. But I'm finding so many products that are only available in a very girl or very boy version. I'm loving Ikea - most items work well for either

This article more or less sums up my approach:
http://news.yahoo.com/common-sense-g...173800492.html

Advertisement

mrspopo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 06:02 PM   #2
jam's mum
Registered Users
seller
seller

Re: Finding gender neutral products?

My daughter is a month younger than yours and I feel your pain so badly. I had thought about only buying "boys" stuff, on the grounds that trucks don't have penises any more than flowers have vaginas. But I find I resent that too.

My strategy thus far has been to boycott products that blatantly appeal to gender stereotypes. The sad thing is that most gender neutral stuff I've found is organicky and not marketed to children, with ecru, natural, earthy tones that I also find boring and uninspiring. The holy grail for me are products in primary colours, blacks and whites. IKEA's good for that.
Old 11-12-2012, 06:10 PM   #3
sh0rtchica
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood: