Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 11-15-2012, 09:13 AM   #1
tiggiepooh
Registered Users

Prefolds Help

Hi! I'm new to cloth diapering. We decided to use OsoCozy prefolds for our NB. I got snappis and Thirsties covers. I seem to be having some trouble though. I ended up preferring to use the prefold without the snappi and just used the cover. I seem to have a lot of leaks and poopy clothes. The smell is also pretty strong but I guess there's not much I could do about that. Also, his onesie will become wet over the area of the diaper cover - as though it isn't doing much to protect his clothes.
Is there something that I'm doing wrong? Are there any tips you can share with me?

TIA!

Advertisement

tiggiepooh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 09:19 AM   #2
mariamommy
Registered Users
seller

Re: Prefolds Help

how are you folding the prefold?

Is the prefold completely tucked into the cover? If any part of the cotton prefold sticks out, it will wick quickly onto clothes.

can you post a pic?
Old 11-15-2012, 09:28 AM   #3
tiggiepooh
Registered Users

Yes, it's completely tucked in. There is a longer area on the front so we fold it over but it still seems to seep onto the clothes. I'll try to take pic when DS wakes up.
Right now we are trying the newspaper fold (I think, is that what it's called?)...where we are folding it into thirds.
Old 11-15-2012, 09:31 AM   #4
Ky-Momma
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:

I was going to ask how you are folding it as well. If you aren't fastening it, is the diaper snug? DD would move and the diaper would shift so that her pee went straight into the cover rather than the prefold. Also, are you using Osocozy infant size 1?
Momma to four little miracles! E 07-23-2006 35wks, J 08-15-2007 32wks, A 04-21-2009 34wks, K 07-06-2011 39wks cautiously expecting #5 in Feb '13
Ky-Momma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 09:45 AM   #5
mariamommy
Registered Users
seller