Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 11-29-2012, 05:49 AM   #1
jeebee
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Does anybody else not actually know what a 'normal' cycle is for them?

Before I got pregnant the first time I was on the pill for about 8 years. Before that I don't think I paid much attention to my cycle, wasn't sexually active and it came every 4ish weeks but no idea when I was ovulating etc, was too young to worry about it too much.

Now, I have been breastfeeding for almost 5 years, had 3 children, and I know that BF affects my cycle. After all 3 of my kids I have had at least 6 cycles before things even begin to straighten out, I have gotten pregnant both times before my cycles went back to normal or were regular. I have been breastfeeding the entire time, tandem breastfeeding twice now.

So I really have no idea what is normal for me! I feel embarrassed when I go to the doctor or midwife and they ask about my normal cycle length and I have to say that I really have no idea! I am 34 years old!

Advertisement

Old 11-29-2012, 10:08 AM   #2
Shimpie
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood:
Re: Does anybody else not actually know what a 'normal' cycle is for them?

I used to know. It was predictably 44 days, which is long. I went on birth control pills for over 10 years, got off, and had a baby. My cycle has been back for a year and it still hasn't settled. It started out at 45 days, but the days have been slowing shrinking down to 34. That's still kinda long, I guess.

I wouldn't be ashamed about not knowing. For some people, cycles change over time. For others, cycles are unpredictable. I'm sure there are plenty of people who don't know what might be a normal cycle for them.
Shimpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:52 PM   #3
2boysmama
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood: