Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 01-09-2013, 11:57 AM   #1
cherylchoo
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
"fancy" dinner party menu suggestions?

I am doing a Dinner for 8 thing with my church, where they pair up four couples that otherwise do not hang out together and we each take turns hosting a dinner party at our house over the course of the year. Well, we are paired up with people that have more disposable income than us, so the dinners thus far have been fancier than I had originally planned to do. Not totally high-end, but not exactly from the $5 menu thread.

So I am looking for suggestions for dinner fare that looks more expensive than it really is, and is not too labor intensive so I can actually enjoy the dinner party. I have some culinary background, so I can cook and I can pull off fancy presentation. I'm just stuck for ideas. All I can think of is something in puff pastry so it looks pretty, or upscaling breakfast fare (quiche with higher end veggies, muffins or strata baked in fancy shaped tins, etc.) I know you mamas can come up with something better than this. TIA!

Advertisement

Old 01-09-2013, 12:58 PM   #2
new_mommy78
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood:
Re: "fancy" dinner party menu suggestions?

Why not do a pasta bar with a few different sauces and a couple different pastas. Pair that with a big Cesar salad and some garlic bread.
Presentation has a lot to do with how fancy something feels.

Last edited by new_mommy78; 01-09-2013 at 01:02 PM.
new_mommy78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:59 PM   #3
twood80
Registered Users
seller
seller