Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 01-24-2013, 11:11 PM   #1
Honeybee1999
Registered Users

If you had $200-$300 to spend on a machine...

Would you upgrade your basic, cheapie Walmart Singer sewing machine, or buy the Brother 1034D serger? I am still a beginner sewer, but want to get better at it and start making lots of things, from apparel to home decor to quilts, etc. I keep hearing that having a serger makes sewing so much easier. My sewing machine works fine most of the time for the things I currently use it for. It does jam up sometimes, but I think at least half of the time that has been user error. I really only use about four different stitches. But that doesn't mean eventually I won't want to use more, right?

What would you do?

Advertisement

Old 01-24-2013, 11:51 PM   #2
charirosey
Registered Users
seller

$200-$300 won't get you much of an upgrade sewing machine so I would def get the serger. I have the same serger an love it. I sew a lot and having the server makes many projects easier and more professional looking. Practice like crazy when you get it, there is a bit of a learning curve but doesn't take long. Enjoy!!
charirosey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:28 AM   #3
ButtRpies
Registered Users
Formerly: rjwinner
seller
seller

My Mood:
Re: If you had $200-$300 to spend on a machine...

I second that you won't get much bang for your buck on a sewing machine for that amount. I wiuld get a serger.
Old 01-25-2013, 07:49 AM   #4
MommyLyssa
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood:

This is a good thread...I am debating between getting a 50mm 1.4 lens for my camera, or a serger/new machine.

I have two hobbies and I can't give one up, which is really difficult. haha. I can't afford two expensive hobbies!

Owner and creator at https://www.etsy.com/shop/AllClothedinScarlet for modest, durable, and out of this world gorgeous dresses!
MommyLyssa is online now   Reply With Quote