Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 06:42 PM   #1
fgg's Avatar
fgg
Registered Users
seller
seller
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 468
How do I get my HE washer to actually soak?

I have a new-ish Kenmore HE washer (top loader with a "regular" agitator), and for the life of me I cannot figure out how to get it to soak for a long period of time. It has a soak function, and a few weeks ago I put a few things in with some oxyclean on the soak function, and when I went back a couple of hours later, the water was all gone. Today I tried a different approach. I put a few things in with oxyclean again, but this time set it to the "normal" cycle, and after it filled, I pushed the pause button, and opened the lid. We went to a friend's house for dinner, and when I came home, the washer was drained again. Sometimes I have things that just need to soak overnight, but I cannot figure out how to make my washer do that. Any ideas????
Thanks a lot!

Advertisement

fgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 07:18 PM   #2
WVflipflopmama
Registered Users
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 110
My Mood:
I'm not sure if your top loader would be the same, but have you tried leaving the lid open? Mine has a switch that activates the washer when the lid is closed. It won't do anything but fill the basin while it's open. I could leave it for days and it wouldn't drain as long as the lid is up.
WVflipflopmama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 07:43 PM   #3
mommaagain
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: my happy place
Posts: 1,271
My Mood:
Re: How do I get my HE washer to actually soak?

Mine top loader is not a HE, but also will not drain with the lid open.
__________________
Jenn, happily married to 10/96,
mom to 12/01, and 3/04,
momma again to 1/10, and a new baby 3/13
mommaagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 07:45 PM   #4
fgg's Avatar
fgg
Registered Users
seller
seller
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 468
Re: How do I get my HE washer to actually soak?

That was the really surprising part today. I did leave the lid open, and it still drained.
fgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 03:56 PM   #5
RockinLou's Avatar
RockinLou
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sandy Springs, GA
Posts: 5,465
Have you read the instruction manual or asked the company?
__________________
Wife, Mother, WAHM, and cding nut!
DD 1-27-09 DS 6-8-11
My IHA: http://i1011.photobucket.com/albums/...psca99bf95.jpg
RockinLou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:02 PM   #6
champatlife's Avatar
champatlife
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tyler, Tx
Posts: 1,812
Re: How do I get my HE washer to actually soak?

I've been trying to figure this out. If I press the soak option and press king plus load ( for water level) all it does is get my clothes wet, then sits. Which makes my laundry room reek of pee since it is full of diapers. My husband came through after a few attempts and he said our laundry room
Smelled like a fish tank. :/
__________________
Selling my turbofire workout program $50 http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/...8#post16579758
champatlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:33 PM   #7
Tris's Avatar
Tris
Registered Users
seller
seller
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,535
My Mood:
Re: How do I get my HE washer to actually soak?

Can you just get a garbage can and presoak them there?
__________________
J- sahm to Z~12.07, A~4.09 and J~ 8.13
Tris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:09 PM   #8
abunchoflemons
Registered Users
sitesupporter
seller
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 14,609
My Mood:
Re: How do I get my HE washer to actually soak?

Are you sure your diapers didn't soak up water/ go into air? Maybe it will only soak for a little bit? Try manual to see if limit on soak. I think even my front load I could let it fill & turn off & it be ok
__________________
Join me making money doing the following: shopkick, Swagbucks, fronto unlockscreen , Perk, receipthog,1Q, Free Eats, panel app, qmee, bzzagent, amazon-my habit, slidejoy unlock screen, smiley360
abunchoflemons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:15 PM   #9
dncnshu00
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 904
If you leave the lid open on a top-loading HE, it automatically drains the water. Do you have a bedding or bulky items setting?
dncnshu00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2005 - 2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.