Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 02-06-2013, 08:49 AM   #1
KBailey87
Registered Users
seller

Question Traveling using cloth diapers?

Since I'm fairly new to the cloth diapering world I've never had to worry about traveling and using cloth diapers. I'm taking a trip with my daughter at the end of this month and don't want to have to buy a pack of sposies just for this! How difficult is it to just continue with the cloth on the plane and during the trip? Any advice on what all to take with me as well? TIA!

Advertisement

KBailey87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:59 AM   #2
zandj
Registered Users
seller
seller

Re: Traveling using cloth diapers?

we are going to New Zealand on Saturday for 2.5 weeks and will be using/taking cloth only (we also did this with our son who is now 5)

what I do is wash all diapers the day before we leave because in the past I was always waiting on them to dry when done the day of. On Saturday I plan to have her in prefolds that I can throw in the wash just before we leave for a quick wash and then pop in the dryer so there are no dirties sitting around, they will wash up nicely/properly when we get home. In the past I had just popped any DS had used that morning before we left in a wetbag in our suitcase and washed when we got to our destination.

Make sure to use your best poop containing diapers on the plane (though blowouts are so rare in any kind of cloth!) and bring a few more than you think you'll need. I usually try to get away with using only one though and making it overnight absorbency as the changing spots are so small on planes sposies or not. Each time we pick up our luggage, since we have a few transfers I just throw the dirties in the suitcase in the wetbag! (and hope nobody has to rifle through it! haha)