Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 03-16-2013, 01:42 PM   #1
bozmom
Registered Users
seller

I'm a noob babywearer needing suggestions. I'm not good enough to figure out wraps, and I'm terrified of sling types, but am needing suggestions for something good for (possibly) 100+ degree, very humid weather. I've got a budget of about 60 dollars (but don't mind used). I have a Bamberoo mei tai (2nd hand, no clue what style) which I really like, but it is so hot. It's difficult to tolerate even at milder temperature. I was suggested a Boba by a friend, but she wasn't using it in the summer. Any suggestions?

Advertisement

bozmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 02:34 PM   #2
rebeccarose
Registered Users

Re: affordable, cool carrier?

Kinderpacks have great reviews and they carry a line of carriers with the kool nit option or the comfort mesh. If you can find it used at an FSOT at either this site or thebabywearers.com site or the babywear swap on Facebook, it might fit your budget. They are a little pricey new.
rebeccarose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 02:58 PM   #3
squirrly
Registered Users

Kinderpack with the koolnit would be my first recommendation.

I find back carries easier for ME than front carries, in the heat. Not sure it makes much difference for DS, but the koolnit is really to help your LO - not you.

You can also wrap an icepack in a prefold, kitchen towel, etc. and slip between you to help cool off. Just remember to keep it well wrapped, especially against baby, and move it around frequently so that you don't get any super cold spots.

A big hat that shades both of you can help quite a bit, and helps prevent sunburn, too!
squirrly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 07:49 PM   #4
bozmom
Registered Users
seller

Thank you both for the suggestions. I'll check them out. And I never would have thought of the ice pack thing. Thanks for that, too!
Old 03-17-2013, 01:14 PM   #5