Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!
Old 03-29-2013, 03:10 PM   #1
Registered Users
My Mood:
Talk to me about skirties...

I've got the Eviepants pattern and it has a few different options for skirties. Are there other skirty patterns you like/recommend?

Where do you start the the waist or further down?

About how much yarn do you use for a M/L skirt (Obviously this will depend on the style and where you start)?

Anything else I need to know about skirties? This is my first girl after 5 boys so I've done lots of longies/shorties before I'm new to all things ruffly!

Forgot to add, I just finished these and they took exactly 2oz. of colorway and 1oz of trim so I've got that much left over. The bottom short row is a little wonky so I was thinking of maybe doing a skirt on these but I'm nervous for some reason. I definitely don't want to mess them up. Thoughts? What kind of skirt could I do with 2 oz of yarn that might conceal that messy short row and look good?

Barbara - Unexpectedly back after a long hiatus...anxiously awaiting #6!

Last edited by bfoster2000; 03-29-2013 at 03:14 PM.
bfoster2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 06:00 PM   #2
Registered Users
Re: Talk to me about skirties...

I've only done a couple of skirties as I found them too boring to knit, so I can't answer all the questions. I did start it close to the waist. I also used the Evie Pants pattern. I have used one of the free ones, too, but like Evie better. The other idea is you could just add ruffles to conceal, rather than a whole skirty. I did way more "rumba pants" than actual skirties.
Usborne books rep. Ask me about getting double free books! I knit and dye. I blog about it My WAHM thread My ISO/IHA
Beth~BFing, BWing group leading, non circing, vax delaying, cosleeping, AP, food eliminating, vegan mama to 1 sweet boy, 1 Hypnobabies baby girl and 2 bad kitties
Nachomama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 07:15 PM   #3