Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 07-06-2013, 12:01 PM   #1
nicolehedges
Registered Users
sitesupporter
seller

My Mood:
My First Newborn fitted......a few questions too. :)

This is my first attempt at making a diaper. I used the free Darling Diaper newborn pattern. I think it turned out pretty well, except I messed up on the wing snaps placement a bit and the elastic casement in the back looks a little off. That makes it look uneven, but it's not.....I did not add an internal soaker to help with drying time. I have lots of preemie pfs I can use for extra absorbency. The inside is OBV and there is also an additional layer inside of hemp French terry.

No squish to try it on yet....not for a few more weeks. It looks big compared to my orange edge GMD workhorse fitteds. I used the orange pattern as she suggests....I know this baby will be over 7 pounds. Any fit experience?

I would like to use this to make AIOs from, but I am a little worried about sewing with PUL....is there anything special I need to know or to do when sewing with that? I had a hard time encasing the elastics....any tips for that? Any other tips you can offer would be greatly appreciated too! Thanks!

Advertisement

Old 07-06-2013, 12:19 PM   #2
Mommyof4forme!
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood:
Not sure how to answer the questions but the diaper looks great and is super cute!
Mommyof4forme! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 03:14 PM   #3
AppleMama81
Registered Users

My Mood:
Super impressive!! Great job!!
Old 07-06-2013, 03:21 PM   #4
nicolehedges
Registered Users
sitesupporter
seller

My Mood:
Re: My First Newborn fitted......a few questions too. :)

Thank you!! I just hope it works too!
Old 07-07-2013, 07:52 AM   #5
IndoorKitty
Registered Users
seller
seller

It's been a while since I made my "test run" fitteds, but I eventually came to the conclusion that it was easier to do the casing separate from the top stitching.