Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 02-28-2014, 08:29 PM   #1
Nariah01
Registered Users

My Mood:
Buying in bulk and shopping with a LO

Ok I am going to kill two birds with one stone with this thread!

First off all you ladies that make things from scratch, how do you store your ingredients? I have heard from other Washington mamas that bulk foods like flour and beans and such are cheaper at Winco, but how do I store them once home so they don't go bad? I am new to the whole cooking thing, I will admit I am a bit lazy and never really want to make my food. But in order to eat better and save some money I am throwing myself head first into making stuff from scratch. So that being said I have no idea what good amounts for things are, or even what are some good staples to have one hand. So ideas on that would be helpful as well!

Next how do some of you manage your LO while shopping alone? Currently I do all the shopping with my DH so I can have some help, but it would be easier if I could do it on my own. My LO is 3 months old and its kind of tough just managing him while out and about. He most times is awake for most of it, he spits up all the time(lots of messes) and sometimes he is not too keen about how long the shopping takes, I've had a baby melt down before and had to take him to the car to calm him down, which wouldn't work if I am by myself. I am honestly a bit afraid to take him out alone at this age. So are there any tips or tricks for this, or does it just get better as they get older? Is it something I just need to suck it up, pull up my big girl panties and just do it?

TIA

Advertisement

Nariah01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 08:37 PM   #2
madmollyann
Registered Users
seller

For storage:
Most dry goods (baking stuff, pasta, rice) will last without special treatment. Put brown sugar in an airtight container.