Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 06-12-2014, 08:03 AM   #1
Pixi6s
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
EBF 6m old - tips on starting occasional formula bottle?

DD is 6.5m right now and goes to daycare 3 days a week. I have been relying heavily on the freezer stash for several months (daycare only - period came back month 3 and it's caused issues). For the last few months I have been trying all the tricks but I still don't bring home enough milk to feed my LO at daycare and it was causing stress and "i quit" feelings.

So I have come to terms that my 2nd LO will have some formula. Please do not give me lectures about how I should try hard to make more milk - I have and I have to move on to still enjoy my LO first year of life.

But this is all new to me. I have enough freezer milk to put it off 4-6 weeks but I think I will start in 2-3 weeks because I don't want to be stressed out if she doesn't take to the formula well or if we have to try a few brands because of intolerance. I also am short about 1 feeding and a half with what I pump so I want to have enough freezer stash to try and limit to 1 formula feeding a daycare day for as long as possible. if I wait until the stash is gone she would have 2 some days.

Anyone have any experience introducing formula? Should I mix it with breastmilk to start?

Also her BM bottles are 3.5oz. Would a formula bottle likely be the same size (once she is comfortable with it) or will it be heavier so she will want less?

Lastly I was thinking having them feed the formula bottle early or mid day so that she is more likely to want to nurse when I pick her up, any thoughts on timing...

Anyway if you have any experience in this area I would be appreciative.

Thanks!

Advertisement